Home » Uncategorized » A walk on the lighter side…

A walk on the lighter side…

The Newman Center near campus at my institution is in the habit of offering dollar dinners Wednesday evenings at 5:30. The way they promote the dinners (see, it’s marketing after all) is to chalk amusing and whimsical invitations on the sidewalk in front of the house. I walk past the house (usually too late to come to the dinner), and amuse myself by reading the weekly come-on messages on the sidewalk (“You’re feeling hungry…very, very hungry…”). Occasionally, there’ll be artwork along with the message. So far this semester, I’ve seen a suspiciously cheerful-looking camel and the legendary Trogdor the Burninator.

That approach usually kicks over my giggle-box a little. Next semester I don’t teach on Wednesday, so perhaps I’ll be able to attend.

